New York State Licensing Requirements
NEW YORK STATE LICENSE RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS
REALTY INSTITUTE has been a leader in real estate education for more than three decades and we have educated over 60,000 students.
All courses are approved by the New York Dept. of State and The Association of Real Estate License Law Officials, known as ARELLO.
ARELLO standards require a high quality delivery system that makes online learning simple. The system we offer is among the very best available today.
All material offered by Realty Institute has been written by experienced real estate professionals who take pride in their ability to present subjects in a clear and easily understood manner. All courses offer audio throughout giving the student the opportunity to read, listen, or both.
New York requires a licensee who is not exempt, to complete 22.5 hours of approved education every two years prior to renewing their license. The following are the only exemptions allowed:
· Attorneys admitted to the New York State bar who hold a real estate broker license.
· Licensed brokers who have 15 consecutive years of combined licensure as a
salesperson and a broker effective June 30, 2008. Any break in the sequence will prevent this exemption. Anyone not continuously licensed for 15 years as of June 30, 2008 will be required to take 22.5 hours each renewal period.
All licensees must take a 3 hour approved Fair Housing course as part of the 22.5 hour requirement. Exempt licensees are also required to take this course.
Our courses are designed for ease of navigation and learning. Each subject is broken down into individual chapters and the student has the ability to sign off and on as often as they choose. Each time they signoff they will automatically have their place book marked. When they return to the material they will be at the point they left.
At the end of each chapter there will be multiple choice questions. If you answer incorrectly, you will be given another question without having to re-read the material or receive any penalty for time.
There are no graded exams.
Our courses are timed based on state requirements and a timer appears on the bottom of your screen. As you complete each page an arrow will allow you to move to the next one. It will take a total of at least 22.5 hours to complete your subjects.
You will be automatically logged off if you fail to advance pages for 5 minutes or more.
Your Certificate of Completion will be available for you to print and Dept. of State will be notified of your course completion. When all subjects are completed the student will be able to go online to the Dept. of State website and renew his/her license and pay the fee.
Any salesperson who successfully completes an approved broker qualifying course (which requires passing the final schools exam) will receive credit for continuing education for their current two-year sales license renewal period. As long as they have completed the 3 clock hours of mandatory Fair Housing, which is not included in the Brokers course.
|< Prev||Next >|